Exchange Agent and deleteing logs - Veritas Backup Exec

This is a discussion on Exchange Agent and deleteing logs - Veritas Backup Exec ; I am running BE 8.5 with the Exchange Agent backing up my Exchange 2000 server. Every Monday I do a full and I select to flush the Exchange transaction logs. However, I just read in a Microsoft Exchange Disaster Recovery ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Exchange Agent and deleteing logs

  1. Exchange Agent and deleteing logs


    I am running BE 8.5 with the Exchange Agent backing up my Exchange 2000 server.
    Every Monday I do a full and I select to flush the Exchange transaction logs.

    However, I just read in a Microsoft Exchange Disaster Recovery whitepaper
    not it says "never delete your transaction logs or your checkpoint files."


    I assume that when I select the Flush Committed Logs for the Full Backup
    that it backs up the logs first and then deletes them so technically I have
    a copy on tape if I ever need to restore the logs. Is that correct?

    Thanks,
    Jeff

  2. Re: Exchange Agent and deleteing logs

    That means "Manually Delete"

    If you never deleted any logs, your disk would soon fill up.

    Jeff Walzer wrote:

    > I am running BE 8.5 with the Exchange Agent backing up my Exchange 2000 server.
    > Every Monday I do a full and I select to flush the Exchange transaction logs.
    >
    > However, I just read in a Microsoft Exchange Disaster Recovery whitepaper
    > not it says "never delete your transaction logs or your checkpoint files."
    >
    > I assume that when I select the Flush Committed Logs for the Full Backup
    > that it backs up the logs first and then deletes them so technically I have
    > a copy on tape if I ever need to restore the logs. Is that correct?
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Jeff



  3. Re: Exchange Agent and deleteing logs

    The logs are used to ensure transactional processing of updates to the IS.
    Once changes are propagated to the IS, the logs aren't needed and are
    usually deleted by the service. Manually deleting logs would be dangerous,
    as there may be transaction records in there that haven't been completed and
    haven't been backed up to tape.

    "Jeff Walzer" wrote in message
    news:3b0d0d47$1@hronntp01....
    >
    > I am running BE 8.5 with the Exchange Agent backing up my Exchange 2000

    server.
    > Every Monday I do a full and I select to flush the Exchange transaction

    logs.
    >
    > However, I just read in a Microsoft Exchange Disaster Recovery whitepaper
    > not it says "never delete your transaction logs or your checkpoint files."
    >
    >
    > I assume that when I select the Flush Committed Logs for the Full Backup
    > that it backs up the logs first and then deletes them so technically I

    have
    > a copy on tape if I ever need to restore the logs. Is that correct?
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Jeff




+ Reply to Thread