US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch - SUN

This is a discussion on US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch - SUN ; It looks like the latest timezone patch for Solaris 8 (109809-02) changed the US/East-Indiana to be the same as EST. This is not correct for the past, and messes up the display of things like times for files that were ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch

  1. US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch

    It looks like the latest timezone patch for Solaris 8 (109809-02)
    changed the US/East-Indiana to be the same as EST. This is not
    correct for the past, and messes up the display of things like
    times for files that were changed in previous summers when we did
    not go on DST.
    --
    Jeff Wieland

  2. Re: US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch

    In article ,
    Jeff Wieland wrote:
    >It looks like the latest timezone patch for Solaris 8 (109809-02)
    >changed the US/East-Indiana to be the same as EST. This is not
    >correct for the past, and messes up the display of things like
    >times for files that were changed in previous summers when we did
    >not go on DST.


    Strange if true. The Solaris 9 equivalent 113225-03 doesn't seem to
    have this problem:

    $ uname -rsv
    SunOS 5.9 Generic_118558-21
    $ showrev -p | fgrep 113225-03
    Patch: 113225-03 Obsoletes: Requires: Incompatibles: Packages: SUNWcsu

    $ TZ=US/Eastern perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1120000000'
    Tue Jun 28 19:06:40 2005
    $ TZ=US/East-Indiana perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1120000000'
    Tue Jun 28 18:06:40 2005

    (different in summer 2005)

    $ TZ=US/Eastern perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1150000000'
    Sun Jun 11 00:26:40 2006
    $ TZ=US/East-Indiana perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1150000000'
    Sun Jun 11 00:26:40 2006

    (same in summer 2006)

    --
    Chris Thompson
    Email: cet1 [at] cam.ac.uk

  3. Re: US/East-Indiana timezone files messed up by patch

    In article cet1@cus.cam.ac.uk (Chris Thompson) writes:
    >In article ,
    >Jeff Wieland wrote:
    >>It looks like the latest timezone patch for Solaris 8 (109809-02)
    >>changed the US/East-Indiana to be the same as EST. This is not
    >>correct for the past, and messes up the display of things like
    >>times for files that were changed in previous summers when we did
    >>not go on DST.

    >
    >Strange if true. The Solaris 9 equivalent 113225-03 doesn't seem to
    >have this problem:
    >
    >$ uname -rsv
    >SunOS 5.9 Generic_118558-21
    >$ showrev -p | fgrep 113225-03
    >Patch: 113225-03 Obsoletes: Requires: Incompatibles: Packages: SUNWcsu
    >
    >$ TZ=US/Eastern perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1120000000'
    >Tue Jun 28 19:06:40 2005
    >$ TZ=US/East-Indiana perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1120000000'
    >Tue Jun 28 18:06:40 2005
    >
    >(different in summer 2005)
    >
    >$ TZ=US/Eastern perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1150000000'
    >Sun Jun 11 00:26:40 2006
    >$ TZ=US/East-Indiana perl -le 'print scalar localtime 1150000000'
    >Sun Jun 11 00:26:40 2006
    >
    >(same in summer 2006)
    >
    >--
    >Chris Thompson
    >Email: cet1 [at] cam.ac.uk


    It's looking like we should be using TZ=America/Indiana/Indianapolis,
    but that doesn't exist under Solaris 8. We might end up installing
    something like /usr/share/lib/zoneinfo/local/America/Indiana/Indianapolis
    so that we can get the correct zoneinfo. Stupid politicians --
    we don't need no stinkin' DST.

    Try running "zdump -v US/East-Indiana". With the patch in place,
    I get:

    US/East-Indiana Tue Feb 21 19:54:27 2006 UTC = Tue Feb 21 14:54:27 2006 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Fri Dec 13 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Fri Dec 13 15:26:16 1901 CMT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sat Dec 14 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Sat Dec 14 15:26:16 1901 CMT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Wed Apr 22 05:19:35 1908 UTC = Tue Apr 21 23:59:59 1908 CMT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Wed Apr 22 05:19:36 1908 UTC = Wed Apr 22 00:19:36 1908 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Tue Jan 19 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Mon Jan 18 22:14:07 2038 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Mon Jan 18 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Sun Jan 17 22:14:07 2038 EST isdst=0


    Without the patch, I get:

    US/East-Indiana Tue Feb 21 19:55:41 2006 UTC = Tue Feb 21 14:55:41 2006 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Fri Dec 13 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Fri Dec 13 15:45:52 1901 CWT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sat Dec 14 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Sat Dec 14 15:45:52 1901 CWT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Mar 31 07:59:59 1918 UTC = Sun Mar 31 02:59:59 1918 CWT isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Mar 31 08:00:00 1918 UTC = Sun Mar 31 03:00:00 1918 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 27 06:59:59 1918 UTC = Sun Oct 27 01:59:59 1918 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 27 07:00:00 1918 UTC = Sun Oct 27 01:00:00 1918 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Mar 30 07:59:59 1919 UTC = Sun Mar 30 01:59:59 1919 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Mar 30 08:00:00 1919 UTC = Sun Mar 30 03:00:00 1919 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 26 06:59:59 1919 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:59:59 1919 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 26 07:00:00 1919 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:00:00 1919 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Jun 22 07:59:59 1941 UTC = Sun Jun 22 01:59:59 1941 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Jun 22 08:00:00 1941 UTC = Sun Jun 22 03:00:00 1941 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 06:59:59 1941 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:59:59 1941 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 07:00:00 1941 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:00:00 1941 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Mon Feb 9 07:59:59 1942 UTC = Mon Feb 9 01:59:59 1942 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Mon Feb 9 08:00:00 1942 UTC = Mon Feb 9 03:00:00 1942 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 30 06:59:59 1945 UTC = Sun Sep 30 01:59:59 1945 CWT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 30 07:00:00 1945 UTC = Sun Sep 30 01:00:00 1945 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 28 07:59:59 1946 UTC = Sun Apr 28 01:59:59 1946 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 28 08:00:00 1946 UTC = Sun Apr 28 03:00:00 1946 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 29 06:59:59 1946 UTC = Sun Sep 29 01:59:59 1946 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 29 07:00:00 1946 UTC = Sun Sep 29 01:00:00 1946 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 07:59:59 1947 UTC = Sun Apr 27 01:59:59 1947 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 08:00:00 1947 UTC = Sun Apr 27 03:00:00 1947 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 06:59:59 1947 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:59:59 1947 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 07:00:00 1947 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:00:00 1947 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 25 07:59:59 1948 UTC = Sun Apr 25 01:59:59 1948 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 25 08:00:00 1948 UTC = Sun Apr 25 03:00:00 1948 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 26 06:59:59 1948 UTC = Sun Sep 26 01:59:59 1948 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 26 07:00:00 1948 UTC = Sun Sep 26 01:00:00 1948 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 24 07:59:59 1949 UTC = Sun Apr 24 01:59:59 1949 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 24 08:00:00 1949 UTC = Sun Apr 24 03:00:00 1949 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 25 06:59:59 1949 UTC = Sun Sep 25 01:59:59 1949 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 25 07:00:00 1949 UTC = Sun Sep 25 01:00:00 1949 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 30 07:59:59 1950 UTC = Sun Apr 30 01:59:59 1950 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 30 08:00:00 1950 UTC = Sun Apr 30 03:00:00 1950 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 24 06:59:59 1950 UTC = Sun Sep 24 01:59:59 1950 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 24 07:00:00 1950 UTC = Sun Sep 24 01:00:00 1950 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 29 07:59:59 1951 UTC = Sun Apr 29 01:59:59 1951 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 29 08:00:00 1951 UTC = Sun Apr 29 03:00:00 1951 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 30 06:59:59 1951 UTC = Sun Sep 30 01:59:59 1951 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 30 07:00:00 1951 UTC = Sun Sep 30 01:00:00 1951 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 07:59:59 1952 UTC = Sun Apr 27 01:59:59 1952 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 08:00:00 1952 UTC = Sun Apr 27 03:00:00 1952 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 06:59:59 1952 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:59:59 1952 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 28 07:00:00 1952 UTC = Sun Sep 28 01:00:00 1952 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 26 07:59:59 1953 UTC = Sun Apr 26 01:59:59 1953 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 26 08:00:00 1953 UTC = Sun Apr 26 03:00:00 1953 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 27 06:59:59 1953 UTC = Sun Sep 27 01:59:59 1953 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 27 07:00:00 1953 UTC = Sun Sep 27 01:00:00 1953 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 25 07:59:59 1954 UTC = Sun Apr 25 01:59:59 1954 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 25 08:00:00 1954 UTC = Sun Apr 25 03:00:00 1954 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 26 06:59:59 1954 UTC = Sun Sep 26 01:59:59 1954 CDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 26 07:00:00 1954 UTC = Sun Sep 26 01:00:00 1954 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 24 07:59:59 1955 UTC = Sun Apr 24 01:59:59 1955 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 24 08:00:00 1955 UTC = Sun Apr 24 03:00:00 1955 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 29 06:59:59 1957 UTC = Sun Sep 29 01:59:59 1957 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Sep 29 07:00:00 1957 UTC = Sun Sep 29 01:00:00 1957 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 07:59:59 1958 UTC = Sun Apr 27 01:59:59 1958 CST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 08:00:00 1958 UTC = Sun Apr 27 03:00:00 1958 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 06:59:59 1969 UTC = Sun Apr 27 01:59:59 1969 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 27 07:00:00 1969 UTC = Sun Apr 27 03:00:00 1969 EDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 26 05:59:59 1969 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:59:59 1969 EDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 26 06:00:00 1969 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:00:00 1969 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 26 06:59:59 1970 UTC = Sun Apr 26 01:59:59 1970 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Sun Apr 26 07:00:00 1970 UTC = Sun Apr 26 03:00:00 1970 EDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 25 05:59:59 1970 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:59:59 1970 EDT isdst=1
    US/East-Indiana Sun Oct 25 06:00:00 1970 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:00:00 1970 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Tue Jan 19 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Mon Jan 18 22:14:07 2038 EST isdst=0
    US/East-Indiana Mon Jan 18 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Sun Jan 17 22:14:07 2038 EST isdst=0

    --
    Jeff Wieland

+ Reply to Thread