Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive - Storage

This is a discussion on Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive - Storage ; Hi! Is there anyway to get MacOS X 1.4 (Tiger) not to automatically mount a USB disk drive when it is plugged in or try to be acessed by a program? The reason is the program I use need to ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive

  1. Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive

    Hi!

    Is there anyway to get MacOS X 1.4 (Tiger) not to automatically mount
    a USB disk drive when it is plugged in or try to be acessed by a
    program? The reason is the program I use need to access this drive in
    low level, if it is mounted the program cannot do this.

    Thanks!


  2. Re: Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive

    On 2007-03-02 21:06:05 -0600, "S P Arif Sahari Wibowo"
    said:

    > Is there anyway to get MacOS X 1.4 (Tiger) not to automatically mount
    > a USB disk drive when it is plugged in or try to be acessed by a
    > program? The reason is the program I use need to access this drive in
    > low level, if it is mounted the program cannot do this.


    More information about the details is needed. Which program, for starters?

    If this program is written by you, this is probably better answered in
    a comp.sys.mac.programmming.* news group.

    --
    JR


  3. Re: Disable auto-mount for USB disk drive

    On Mar 3, 11:06 am, "S P Arif Sahari Wibowo"
    wrote:
    > Hi!
    >
    > Is there anyway to get MacOS X 1.4 (Tiger) not to automatically mount
    > a USB disk drive when it is plugged in or try to be acessed by a
    > program? The reason is the program I use need to access this drive in
    > low level, if it is mounted the program cannot do this.


    Just ejecting it works for one-off tasks.
    Good software does this for you, and remounts when done.
    This may be why JR wants to know what software you are using.

    If I really needed this, I would try changing
    AUTOMOUNT=-YES- to AUTOMOUNT=-NO-
    in /etc/hostconfig and rebooting.

    This sort of modification should be done carefully,
    and should be logged to your changes file.
    It is likely to affect other drives.


+ Reply to Thread