whitelist_from_rcvd - SpamAssassin
This is a discussion on whitelist_from_rcvd - SpamAssassin ; Why would I not be whitelisted here? I have the following entrines in
my user_prefs file
whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org pelorus.org
internal_networks 192.168/16
internal_networks 69.89.22.106
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.4 (2008-01-01) on box106.bluehost.com
X-Spam-Level: RRRRR
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=5.3 required=3.0 tests=AWL,BAYES_00,SPF_NEUTRAL,
TVD_SPACE_RATIO autolearn=no ...
-
whitelist_from_rcvd
Why would I not be whitelisted here? I have the following entrines in
my user_prefs file
whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org pelorus.org
internal_networks 192.168/16
internal_networks 69.89.22.106
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.4 (2008-01-01) on box106.bluehost.com
X-Spam-Level: RRRRR
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=5.3 required=3.0 tests=AWL,BAYES_00,SPF_NEUTRAL,
TVD_SPACE_RATIO autolearn=no version=3.2.4
X-Spam-Report:
* 0.7 SPF_NEUTRAL SPF: sender does not match SPF record (neutral)
* -2.6 BAYES_00 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 0 to 1%
* [score: 0.0000]
* 2.2 TVD_SPACE_RATIO BODY: TVD_SPACE_RATIO
* 5.0 AWL AWL: From: address is in the auto white-list
Received: from eastrmmtao102.cox.net ([68.230.240.8])
by box106.bluehost.com with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from )
id 1KMCUb-0001WW-AU
for skip@pelorus.org; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 19:53:13 -0600
Received: from eastrmimpo03.cox.net ([68.1.16.126])
by eastrmmtao102.cox.net
(InterMail vM.7.08.02.01 201-2186-121-102-20070209) with ESMTP
id <20080725015315.GJDU22786.eastrmmtao102.cox.net@eas trmimpo03.cox.net>
for ; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:15 -0400
Received: from [192.168.1.113] ([68.231.250.115])
by eastrmimpo03.cox.net with bizsmtp
id u1tE1Z0062W8SQ4021tEyq; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:14 -0400
Message-ID: <48893201.2010901@pelorus.org>
Date: Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:05 -0400
From: Skip
User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.14 (Windows/20080421)
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: Skip Morrow
Subject: Test
X-Enigmail-Version: 0.95.6
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-user: ::::68.230.240.8:box106.bluehost.com::::::
Testing
--
Get my PGP Public key here:
http://pelorus.org/skip@pelorus.org_public_key.asc
-
Re: whitelist_from_rcvd
> Why would I not be whitelisted here? I have the
> following entrines in
> my user_prefs file
> whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org pelorus.org
> internal_networks 192.168/16
> internal_networks 69.89.22.106
It seems pelorus.org is your mx for incoming mail.
According this the snippet, and your mail to this list, your outgoing email server is
eastrmmtao101.cox.net (68.230.240.7)
So I think your whitelist_from_rcvd should be
whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org eastrmmtao101.cox.net
The pelorus.org is not visible on your email headers. However, it must be seen in your trusted_networks (if not internal_networks - I don't know if it is internal (managed by you) or just trusted).
Regards
jarif
>
> X-Spam-Flag: YES
> X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.4 (2008-01-01)
> on box106.bluehost.com X-Spam-Level: RRRRR
> X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=5.3 required=3.0
> tests=AWL,BAYES_00,SPF_NEUTRAL, TVD_SPACE_RATIO
> autolearn=no version=3.2.4
> X-Spam-Report:
> * 0.7 SPF_NEUTRAL SPF: sender does not match SPF record
> (neutral)
> * -2.6 BAYES_00 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 0 to 1%
> * [score: 0.0000]
> * 2.2 TVD_SPACE_RATIO BODY: TVD_SPACE_RATIO
> * 5.0 AWL AWL: From: address is in the auto white-list
> Received: from eastrmmtao102.cox.net ([68.230.240.8])
> by box106.bluehost.com with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
> (envelope-from )
> id 1KMCUb-0001WW-AU
> for skip@pelorus.org; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 19:53:13 -0600
> Received: from eastrmimpo03.cox.net ([68.1.16.126])
> by eastrmmtao102.cox.net
> (InterMail vM.7.08.02.01
> 201-2186-121-102-20070209) with ESMTP id
>
> <20080725015315.GJDU22786.eastrmmtao102.cox.net@eas trmimpo03.cox.net>
> for ; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:15 -0400
> Received: from [192.168.1.113] ([68.231.250.115])
> by eastrmimpo03.cox.net with bizsmtp
> id u1tE1Z0062W8SQ4021tEyq; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:14 -0400
> Message-ID: <48893201.2010901@pelorus.org>
> Date: Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:05 -0400
> From: Skip
> User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.14 (Windows/20080421)
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> To: Skip Morrow
> Subject: Test
> X-Enigmail-Version: 0.95.6
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1;
> format=flowed Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
> X-user: ::::68.230.240.8:box106.bluehost.com::::::
>
> Testing
-
Re: whitelist_from_rcvd
Jari Fredriksson wrote:
>> Why would I not be whitelisted here? I have the
>> following entrines in
>> my user_prefs file
>> whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org pelorus.org
>> internal_networks 192.168/16
>> internal_networks 69.89.22.106
>>
>
> It seems pelorus.org is your mx for incoming mail.
>
> According this the snippet, and your mail to this list, your outgoing email server is
>
> eastrmmtao101.cox.net (68.230.240.7)
>
> So I think your whitelist_from_rcvd should be
>
> whitelist_from_rcvd skip@pelorus.org eastrmmtao101.cox.net
>
> The pelorus.org is not visible on your email headers. However, it must be seen in your trusted_networks (if not internal_networks - I don't know if it is internal (managed by you) or just trusted).
>
> Regards
> jarif
>
>
>
>
I thought it might be that and had actually tried that before. I just
tired it again hoping that perhaps I had made a typo and it still did
not work.
According to the documentation, the trusted_networks settings shouldn't
affect this, but here are mine just in case someone else thinks it makes
a difference.
internal_networks 192.168/16
internal_networks 69.89.22.106
Skip
--
Get my PGP Public key here:
http://pelorus.org/skip@pelorus.org_public_key.asc
-
Re: whitelist_from_rcvd
On 25.07.08 06:44, Skip wrote:
> I thought it might be that and had actually tried that before. I just
> tired it again hoping that perhaps I had made a typo and it still did
> not work.
>
> According to the documentation, the trusted_networks settings shouldn't
> affect this, but here are mine just in case someone else thinks it makes
> a difference.
>
> internal_networks 192.168/16
> internal_networks 69.89.22.106
looking at your original e-mail
(http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_...pelorus.org%3e)
seems that none of machines in Received: header has reverse DNS in the
headers, so SA assumes there is none. whitelist_from_rcvd works with reverse
DNS, to it doesn't fire here.
Received: from eastrmmtao102.cox.net ([68.230.240.8])
by box106.bluehost.com with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from )
id 1KMCUb-0001WW-AU
for skip@pelorus.org; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 19:53:13 -0600
Received: from eastrmimpo03.cox.net ([68.1.16.126])
by eastrmmtao102.cox.net
(InterMail vM.7.08.02.01 201-2186-121-102-20070209) with ESMTP
id
<20080725015315.GJDU22786.eastrmmtao102.cox.net@eas trmimpo03.cox.net>
for ; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:15 -0400
Received: from [192.168.1.113] ([68.231.250.115])
by eastrmimpo03.cox.net with bizsmtp
id u1tE1Z0062W8SQ4021tEyq; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:53:14 -0400
None of these IP's is in internal_networks so the settings is not taken into
account.
However since 68.230.240.8 fdDNS is eastrmmtao102.cox.net, you should turn
on DNS lookups on box106.bluehost.com.
Also, you need mention eastrmmtao102.cox.net or cox.net in the
whitelist_from_rcvd, not pelorus.org.
--
Matus UHLAR - fantomas, uhlar@fantomas.sk ; http://www.fantomas.sk/
Warning: I wish NOT to receive e-mail advertising to this address.
Varovanie: na tuto adresu chcem NEDOSTAVAT akukolvek reklamnu postu.
I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.