RE: Help for Bed-n-Breakfast in Brasil
> -----Original Message-----[color=blue]
> From: poohah [mailto:poohah@hotmail.com]
> Sent: Sunday, April 13, 2008 1:49 PM
>
>
> Hi All, here is what I have so far.
>
> Hello Steve, Today our specialist did the investigation. His resume of
> the
> problem is the following: - SMTP server has an influence on spam
> marking by
> Yahoo but not only it; - if a message contains some web-site URL it
> also has
> an influence on spam marking by Yahoo; you can visit the test page
> [url]http://pousada.com.br/test.php[/url] and try to send mails with different
> options:
> no checkbox selected means a "clear" message without links to Pousada
> site;
> "spam" option sends a message as is, like in original with two links to
> pousada.com.br; and "to HTML" - it sends message which was formatted
> with
> HTML tags. our test shows that only in the first case, the message
> comes
> into Inbox, but with options "spam" and "to HTML" - when links present
> in
> message - the messages are placed to Bulk/Spam folder;and moreover if
> we
> replace pousada.com.br with some other URL, for example google.com -
> the
> message goes to Inbox also. So the problem is in the spam filtering
> rules on
> Yahoo mail servers - we can't change that.[/color]
Maybe Yahoo penalizes .br URIs in messages.
Try contacting the yahoo staff.
Giampaolo
[color=blue]
> The only way is to change
> the
> message text - excluding pousada.com.br as a link and replace it with
> site
> title or something else.
>
> poohah wrote:[color=green]
> >
> >
> > Hello first thing I would like to say is thanks for all the help and
> > suggestions so far, sorry for the delay in replying but I was trying[/color]
> to[color=green]
> > understand all the suggestions.
> > I will add a few things to clarify what is actually happening.
> > I have a website [url]www.pousada.com.br[/url] in Brazil. It is hosted on[/color]
> Godaddy[color=green]
> > servers and also the Godaddy mail servers.
> > Now basicly when I send an email directly from my email address there[/color]
> does[color=green]
> > not seem to be a problem.
> > When I send an email directly through my booking system it is getting
> > blocked by many spam filters, being put into Yahoo mail filter,
> > quarentined ect ect.
> > I have set up a test Pousada (bed and Breakfast) for you to try, if[/color]
> you do[color=green]
> > a test booking you can see the headers ect. The Pousada is here
> > [url]http://www.pousada.com.br/index.php?pid=345&user=det[/url]
> > I have also put together all the suggestions and I am not sure where[/color]
> to[color=green]
> > start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
> >
> > Below is all the suggestions I have been given.
> >[color=darkred]
> >>> > Having an PTR like ip-72-167-52-118.ip.secureserver.net does not
> >>> > look like someone had the intention to run a mailrelay on.
> >>> >
> >>> > With such an PTR you will not just be blocked by
> >>> > UCEPROTECT-Appliances, you can expect wide delivery problems out
> >>> > there.
> >>> >
> >>> > So my suggestion to you is to get individual PTR's for IP's you
> >>> > want to use as mailservers.
> >> --------------
> >>
> >> Can someone help him along form here? He isn't really an email guy,
> >> so "PTR record" doesn't tell him how to fix things. Remember this is
> >> Brasil, so there may be difficulties in getting things set up
> >> properly. Perhaps someone from there could offer some suggestions?[/color]
> >
> > The explanation you're quoting is pretty good - the mailserver is on
> > ip-72-167-52-118.ip.secureserver.net. which just does not look like a
> > mail-server.
> > He really needs to start by getting 'secureserver.net' to setup a
> > proper reverse mapping :
> >
> > 72.167.52.118 pointing to 'mail.pousada.com.br'.
> >
> > This is also called a PTR record.
> >
> > He has to contact secureserver.net in order to obtain a better PTR[/color]
> record.[color=green]
> > The best one would be the one matching the name its server uses in
> > announcing to remotes. In example, if it announces as mx1.beb.br,[/color]
> then[color=green]
> > that
> > would be the best fq name for the PTR record.
> >
> > But I believe this is not a mandatory requirement in SA, since it at[/color]
> most[color=green]
> > checks for dialup and residential PTRs as well as for the contacting[/color]
> IP[color=green]
> > matching the resolved MX-announced name (no PTR check here). However,[/color]
> many[color=green]
> > ISP may enforce this kind of check in their AS facilities.
> >[color=darkred]
> >> It looks to me like dynamic 72.167.52.118 submitted mail to its smtp
> >> server 64.202.189.102. Why is that bad?
> >>
> >>[/color]
> >
> > My understanding is that his server _is_ 72.167.52.118. his From
> > indicates pousada.com.br:
> > $ host -t mx pousada.com.br
> > pousada.com.br mail is handled by 10 mail.pousada.com.br.
> > $ host mail.pousada.com.br
> > mail.pousada.com.br has address 72.167.52.118
> >
> > so he has a generic rDNS:
> > $ host 72.167.52.118
> > 118.52.167.72.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer
> > ip-72-167-52-118.ip.secureserver.net
> >
> > and this will cause delivery problems nowadays.
> >
> > In addition, his server helos with Pousada.com.br.secureserver.net[/color]
> which[color=green]
> > does not resolve.
> >
> > and
> > $ telnet 72.167.52.118 25
> > ...
> > 220 Pousada.com.br.secureserver.net ESMTP
> >
> > so the hostname in the banner seems to be another one:
> > $ host Pousada.com.br.secureserver.net
> > Host Pousada.com.br.secureserver.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
> >
> > oops.
> >
> > I use secureserver.net to host my domain name and I also run my own[/color]
> MTA.[color=green]
> > I don't suffer from this problem, so if he rearranges his setup so it[/color]
> is[color=green]
> > similar to mine the chances are the problem will go away.
> >
> > As I said, Secureserver.net is my domain host. Apart from having the
> > definitive DNS records it does just two things for me:
> > - it forwards e-mail to my ISP's mail server
> > - it forwards web requests to my website host.
> >
> > I run Postfix as my MTA. Its configured to forward all outgoing mail[/color]
> to[color=green]
> > my ISP's mail server with a 'relay_host' directive. Other MTAs will
> > probably have equivalent rules available. This way my sending IP[/color]
> doesn't[color=green]
> > appear in dynamic/residential blacklists.
> >
> > He could try a similar setup fairly easily. My guess is that he's[/color]
> using[color=green]
> > the same system as me to receive mail but is failing to direct[/color]
> outgoing[color=green]
> > mail through his ISP's MTA.
> >
> > He is apparently relaying via k2smtpout06-[/color]
> 01.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net[color=green]
> > which looks like an "official" godaddy server.
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > Martin Gregorie-2 wrote:[color=darkred]
> >>
> >> On Wed, 2008-04-02 at 21:03, mouss wrote:
> >>> He is apparently relaying via k2smtpout06-[/color][/color]
> 01.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net[color=green][color=darkred]
> >>> which looks like an "official" godaddy server.
> >>>
> >> In that case I'm confused: I thought his problem was described as[/color][/color]
> being[color=green][color=darkred]
> >> due his MTA sending mail from a residential block of IPs.
> >>
> >> The message I'm replying to came through
> >> smtp01-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net on its way here. I'd would not
> >> expect any of secureserver.net's outgoing MTAs to be blacklisted.[/color][/color]
> They[color=green][color=darkred]
> >> evidently supply domain hosting and mail forwarding services to a[/color][/color]
> number[color=green][color=darkred]
> >> of domain registrars: my registrar is not GoDaddy and is not AFAIK
> >> associated with them.
> >>
> >> Martin
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>[/color]
> >
> >[/color]
>
> --
> View this message in context: [url]http://www.nabble.com/Help-for-Bed-n-[/url]
> Breakfast-in-Brasil-tp16446619p16656992.html
> Sent from the SpamAssassin - Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.[/color]