The nominations for the 8th annual JCP Program Awards have closed and it is time for the JCP Executive Committee (EC) Members to cast their votes. This year we have combined the awards into a total of three categories. The winners will be announced during the Wednesday evening event during JavaOne, which will be held this year on 22 September at the Intercontinental Hotel (more details on the event to follow later). I've listed the nominees as well as their nomination justifications below. Congratulations to the nominees!

JCP Member of the Year
- Aplix. For leadership in the Java ME space.
- Stephen Colebourne. Not only with JSR 310, but also in other areas, especially language improvements or Dynamic Languages on the JVM he continues his aim to help Java grow and mature.
- Bob Lee/Google. Mainly for JSR 330.
- Red Hat Middleware. For adapting JSR 330 into JSR 299. Despite a relatively tiny piece of software (JSR 330), it is a first step towards creating standards together with other companies instead of just following their own agenda ;-).

Outstanding Spec Lead
- Emmanuel Bernard (Red Hat), JSR 303, Bean Validation. Emmanuel ran one of the most open specifications in the JCP history, maintaining a public specification document, public forum discussions, public issue tracker and an Apache-licensed TCK and RI. He also demonstrated unparalleled collaboration with other JSR groups. But his most notable contribution was his first, reviving a staled specification and taking over leadership from another party. *
- Gavin King (Red Hat), JSR 299, Contexts and Dependency Injection for the Java EE Platform. The role of a Spec Lead is not an easy one, but this specification took the challenge to a whole new level. What started out as an effort to integrate the JSF and EJB technologies became a specification that would stimulate a commitment to collaboration across the EE platform. *
- Dave Kim (SK Telecom), JSR 327, Dynamic Contents Delivery Service API for Java ME.
- Ronald Tögl, JSR 321, Trusted Computing API for Java. With his passion and continuous effort he not only brought JSR 321 to EDR stage despite a more than challenging time. He also inspired companies to adopt the JSR and implement against it already.

Most Innovative JSR
- JSR 309, Media Server Control API .
- JSR 299, Contexts and Dependency Injection for the Java EE platform. Critics have foreshadowed the death of the Java language, claiming that there is little more than can be done to evolve it and therefore needs to be replaced. There have been similar claims that Java EE is becoming a legacy platform because it's not flexible enough to be extended. JSR 299 silenced these viewpoints.*
- JSR 331, Constraint Programming. This JSR represents the real innovation in SE/EE since the 300 number of JSRs started; where almost every other JSR especially in SE/EE is just an upgrade to existing technologies.
- JSR 327, Dynamic Contents Delivery Service API for Java ME.

JCP Program Award Descriptions:
- JCP Member Of The Year - This award recognizes the corporate or
individual member (either Member or Participant) who has made the most significant positive impact on
the community in the past year. Leadership, investment in the community,
and innovation are some of the qualities that EC Members look for in
voting for this award.

- Most Innovative JSR - Innovation is key to the success of
the JCP program and helps ensure we remain a fresh and vibrant
community. This award recognizes the Spec Lead and Expert Group that
have introduced the most innovative new JSR for the Java community (Java SE, Java EE or Java ME) in
the past year.

- Outstanding Spec Lead - The role of Spec Lead is not
an easy one, and the person who takes that responsibility must be, among
other things, technically savvy, able to build consensus in spite of
diverse corporate goals, and focused on efficiency and execution. This
award recognizes the person who has brought together these qualities the
best in the past year, in leading a JSR for the Java community (Java SE, Java EE or Java ME).

* abbreviated for this entry.

Read More about [And the nominees are......