Find last system shut down time - Linux

This is a discussion on Find last system shut down time - Linux ; Hi, I need to find the last system shutdown time. I got a command last that is used for this.But the command is not give the year. Below i posted the sample output. last -x |grep shutdown shutdown system down ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Find last system shut down time

  1. Find last system shut down time

    Hi,

    I need to find the last system shutdown time. I got a command last that is used for this.But the command is not give the year. Below i posted the sample output.

    last -x |grep shutdown
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Tue Jan 11 11:45 - 11:46 (00:00)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Sat Dec 11 11:25 - 11:45 (31+00:20)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Mon Jan 10 21:04 - 10:31 (13:27)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Fri Jan 7 17:38 - 11:05 (2+17:26)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Thu Jan 6 20:39 - 10:00 (13:21)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Wed Jan 5 19:48 - 10:46 (14:58)
    shutdown system down 2.6.31.5-server- Tue Jan 4 20:13 - 09:51 (13:38)

    year field is important for me. how can i get that or is any other command is used to get the last shutdown time of the Linux system ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. Re: Find last system shut down time

    I know this is really late but the '-F' option should give you the year:

    (distro - Debian)
    $ last -xF|grep shutdown
    shutdown system down 3.0.0-1-686-pae Tue Sep 6 17:55:30 2011 - Wed Sep 7 08:17:25 2011 (14:21)
    shutdown system down 3.0.0-1-686-pae Fri Sep 2 17:56:48 2011 - Tue Sep 6 11:05:58 2011 (3+17:09)
    shutdown system down 3.0.0-1-686-pae Thu Sep 1 16:57:16 2011 - Fri Sep 2 09:59:27 2011 (17:02)

+ Reply to Thread